The memory is vital for the future

As a latinamerican I’m very proud of all the ethnics running through my blood. Bus as usual and as a continuation of the cultural crimes in many parts of the world I’ve been denied of many of my ancestor’s cultural values. I love my european heritage, but need to know more about my amerindian and african roots.

Then the life put me in contact with an amazing designer and artist, his son and his wonderful parents; a man i have the honor to call my brother, my unek: Yuluts Yonda Canencio from the Nasa-Yuwe’s Nation. And my need to know about my family history became even greater.

It will be a long process of self discovering, of confrontation and enlightenment. it have already begun but I know it will take a long journey to walk, fortunately for me I’m not alone in this quest.

Some days ago in Facebook a great artist share a project with me and I feel the need to share it because is simply amazing and inspirational: Native American Indian – Old Photos is a really interesting project , from his about section:

A collection of public-domain photos, taken by many different photographers between 1847 and 1950, representing Native North American Indian folks from many Tribes and Nations.
Mission
A collection of public-domain photos, taken by many different photographers between 1847 and 1950, representing Native North American Indian folks from many Tribes and Nations.
Description
When I started this Educational Page, I intended to portray old photos of Native American folks from the United States. Soon I found that in my attempt to include Tribes and Nations along the United States borders, I was slowly adding old photos representing Native folks from Canada and Mexico as well. Since it takes a great amount of my time to continue researching old photos of Native folks while maintaining this Educational Page, I have no plans to include old photos from any other country.

Administred by Jonathan Holmes, you have to take a look to it.